## Meeting Minutes

## IDAHO LAW ENFORCEMENT, FIREFIGHTING AND EMS MEDAL OF HONOR COMMISSION

Tuesday, February 23, 2010 1:00 P.M. MST

Office of the Idaho Attorney General Statehouse, Room 210 700 West Jefferson Street Boise, Idaho

Attorney General Lawrence Wasden, chairing the meeting called the meeting to order at approximately 1:00 p.m.

Secretary Kriss Bivens Cloyd took roll. The following commissioners were present:

Lawrence Wasden, Attorney General
Ron Anderson, Chief, Meridian Fire Department
Larry Plott, acting Executive Director, POST
Wayne Rausch, Latah County Sheriff (participating via phone)
Blair Olsen, Jefferson County Sheriff
Joe Rice, Chief, Soda Springs Police Department (participating via phone)
\* Bob Wells, Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security, joined the meeting at approximately 1:20 p.m.

The following Commissioners were absent:

Greg Bower, Ada County Prosecutor Dia Gainor, EMS Bureau Chief, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare Doug Borah, Idaho Peace Officer Association

Others present: Sherm Furey, Chief Deputy Attorney General

Kriss Bivens Cloyd, Commission Secretary taking minutes Jim Kerns, Deputy Chief, Boise Police Department Jan Egge, Boise Police Department Volunteer

The agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made.

Chairman Wasden asked if there were any changes to the proposed February 23, 2009 minutes. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion to approve. Sheriff Olsen moved to approve the minutes. Bob Wells seconded the motion. President Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously

The Commission reviewed the two nominations that had been submitted for consideration for awarding of the Idaho Medal of Honor during the 2010 ceremony by the Boise Police Department.

Idaho Medal of Honor Commission Meeting Minutes February 23, 2009 Page 2 of 2

Boise Police Deputy Chief Kerns provided a synopsis the incidents for which their department had submitted nominations. The Commission discussed each nomination at length.

Chairman Wasden asked if there was any further discussion concerning the Boise Police Department Medal of Honor nominees. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion to award the Medal of Honor to Officers Scott Mulcahy and Clay Christensen. Meridian Fire Chief Anderson moved to award the Medal of Honor. Sheriff Wayne Rausch seconded the motion. President Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously

The Commission also reviewed the two nominations submitted for consideration for awarding of the Idaho Medal of Honor during the 2010 ceremony by the Idaho County Sheriff's Office. The Commission discussed each nomination at length.

Chairman Wasden asked if there was any further discussion concerning the Idaho County Sheriff's Department Medal of Honor nominees. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion to award the Medal of Honor to Deputies Carlos Martinez and Doug Ulmer. Sheriff Wayne Rausch moved to award the Medal of Honor. Police Chief Joe Rice seconded the motion. President Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously

## **NEW BUSINESS**:

The Commission discussed that *Symbol Arts* is the company currently used to provide the medals.

Mr. Wells will speak with the Governor to determine if the Governor's Office can pay the cost for the medals and framing.

Mr. Anderson announced that he will be retiring on April 30, 2010 and he will speak with Dean Ellis of the Idaho Fire Chiefs Association to submit names to the Governor for his replacement on the Commission.

The next meeting was tentatively scheduled for May 7, 2010, immediately following the 2010 Idaho Peace Officers' Memorial / Idaho Medal of Honor ceremony. This will not be a formal meeting, just a short "debrief" with those commissioners in attendance and available to meet.

The Commission having concluded all of its business adjourned the meeting at approximately 2:05 p.m.