DRAFT

Meeting Minutes

IDAHO LAW ENFORCEMENT, FIREFIGHTING AND EMS MEDAL OF HONOR COMMISSION

Thursday, May 19, 2016 9:15 A.M. MDT

Idaho State Police Headquarters Region 3 Multi-Purpose Room 700 S. Stratford Drive Meridian, Idaho

Attorney General Lawrence Wasden, chairing the meeting, called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m.

Item 1 – The Commission Secretary called roll.

The following commissioners were present: Lawrence Wasden, Attorney General Wayne Denney, Chief, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services & Preparedness Dennis Doan, Boise Fire Chief Jeff Lavey, Meridian City Chief of Police Bart May, Clark County Sheriff Victor McCraw, POST Division Administrator Tim Miller, Idaho Peace Officers Association

The following commissioners were absent: Bryan Taylor, Canyon County Prosecuting Attorney Bob Wells, Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security

The Chairman announced a quorum was present.

Others present: Teri Nealis, Commission Secretary (OAG) Todd Dvorak, Director of Constituent Affairs (OAG) 2016 Law Enforcement Medal of Honor recipients Paul Wilde, Bonneville County Sheriff

The agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made.

Item 2 - Chairman Wasden asked if there were any changes to the proposed February 17, 2016 minutes. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion to approve. Dennis Doan moved to approve the February 17, 2016 minutes. Jeff Lavey seconded the

motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 3 - Chairman Wasden introduced the 2016 Law Enforcement Medal of Honor recipients: Sergeant Jared Hurt, Deputy Korey Payne and Deputy Christopher Rix, all from the Bonneville County Sheriff's office. Chairman Wasden welcomed the recipients and congratulated them on receiving the Medal of Honor.

Item 3A – Chairman Wasden reviewed logistics of the ceremony for the recipients, how the medals will be presented and where the seating is and when the presentation occurs in the program order.

Item 4 - Report of sub-committee: Bob Wells is the chair of the sub-committee appointed to review the MOH Commission rules. As Bob Wells was not present to give his report, Chairman Wasden called for a motion to hold the matter over. Bart May moved to hold the matter over to a future Commission meeting. Tim Miller seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Wasden thanked the Commission members for their effort and service to the Commission. Dennis Doan invited the recipients to attend the Fallen Firefighters Memorial ceremony which will be held September 9, 2016 in Boise, at which the 2016 firefighter Medal of Honor recipients will receive their medals.

Item 5 - Chairman Wasden called for a motion to adjourn. Tim Miller moved to adjourn. Victor McGraw seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

The Commission meeting adjourned at 9:34 a.m.