Meeting Minutes

IDAHO LAW ENFORCEMENT, FIREFIGHTING AND EMS MEDAL OF HONOR COMMISSION

Friday, March 18, 2012 9 A.M. MDT

Idaho State Police Headquarters Region 3 Multi-Purpose Room 700 S. Stratford Drive Meridian, Idaho

Attorney General Lawrence Wasden, chairing the meeting, called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.

Item 1 – The Commission Secretary called roll.

The following commissioners were present:

Lawrence Wasden, Attorney General Greg Bower, Ada County Prosecuting Attorney William Flink, POST Academy Martin Knoelk, Division Chief, Boise Fire Department Joe Rice, Chief, Soda Springs Police Department Blair Olsen, Jefferson County Sheriff Wayne Denney, EMS Bureau Chief, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

The following commissioners were absent Bob Wells, Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security Doug Borah, Idaho Peace Officers Association

The Chairman announced a quorum was present.

Others present: Teri Nealis, Commission Secretary Janet Carter, Office of the Attorney General John Fransen, photographer for OAG 2012 Medal of Honor recipients

The agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made.

Item 2 - Commissioner Wasden welcomed the recipients and congratulated them on receiving the Medal of Honor. Next he reviewed logistics of the ceremony for the recipients.

Item 3 - Chairman Wasden called for a motion to recess. Greg Bower moved to recess and the motion was seconded. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the question. The motion passed unanimously. The Commission recessed at 9:13 a.m.

Item 4 – at 11:24 a.m. the Commission reconvened. Commission members were present as per the previous roll call.

Item 5 – Chairman Wasden asked if there were any changes to the proposed March 8, 2012 minutes. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion to approve. Greg Bower moved to approve the minutes, and the motion was seconded. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the question. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 6 – Review of 2012 ceremony.

The Commissioners were in agreement that the ceremony went well this year.

The Commission tried out a new format: convening 9:00 a.m. the day of the ceremony to meet the recipients and go over the ceremony logistics with them. The Commissioners agreed that the Commission would follow this procedure in the future, however 9:30 a.m. is probably sufficient.

Chairman Wasden explained the recent statute change to the Commission members - any firefighter/EMS recipients in the future will receive their medal at the Firefighters Memorial Ceremony, which is usually held in June.

Chairman Wasden requested that the minutes reflect thanks to Teri Nealis, the Commission Secretary, for all her hard work.

Next meeting will be at the call of the chair, it will be noted the same as in previous years.

Bill Flink requested permission for POST to use an extra medal for one of their display cases along with information about the Medal of Honor. The Commission approved this request.

Item 7 – Chairman Wasden called for a motion to adjourn. Greg Bower moved to adjourn, and the motion was seconded. Chairman Wasden called for the question. The motion passed unanimously.

The Commission meeting adjourned at 11:32 a.m.