Meeting Minutes

Idaho Law Enforcement, Firefighting and EMS Medal of Honor Commission

Tuesday, March 13, 2007 1:30 p.m. (MDT)

Idaho Office of the Attorney General Conference Room Statehouse, Room 210 700 West Jefferson Street Boise, Idaho

Present at the meeting location

Bill von Tagen, Deputy Attorney General, *Commission Chairman*Ron Anderson, Meridian Fire Chief
Mike Becar, P.O.S.T. Council Representative
Doug Borah, President, Idaho Peace Officers Association
Dia Gainor, Bureau Chief, Emergency Medical Services, Dept. of Health & Welfare
Blair Olsen, Jefferson County Sheriff
Melissa Ward, secretary to Chairman von Tagen (taking minutes)
Jan Egge, Boise Police Department Volunteer

Present via conference call

Bill Douglas, Kootenai County Prosecuting Attorney, *Commission Secretary* Joe Rice, Soda Springs Police Chief

Absent

[Governor's Representative – Vacant Position]

Agenda Items I and II - Call to Order, Review of Agenda, and Prior Meeting's Minutes

Chairman von Tagen called the meeting to order at approximately 1:30 p.m. (MDT).

The meeting agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made. The prior meeting's minutes were reviewed. The minutes were approved upon a motion by Sheriff Olsen, a second by Mr. Becar, and aye votes from all commissioners present.

Agenda Item III – Review 2007 Nominations and Select 2007 Medal Recipients

Chairman von Tagen and Mr. Douglas both commented that the quality of this year's nominations is better than in previous years.

Idaho Medal of Honor Commission Meeting Minutes March 13, 2007 Page 2 of 2

Mr. Borah introduced Jan Egge, whom the Boise Police Chief appointed to assist in the documentation of the department's nominations. Ms. Egge explained the steps she took in documenting Boise PD's nominations. She stated that she interviewed each officer involved in the incidents, researched each incident, and compiled documentation. She commented on her observation that there are sometimes discrepancies between the information and "facts" the media reports and what the officers involved report. Ms. Egge provided oral testimony regarding each of the Boise PD nominations.

There was discussion regarding whether the person signing the nomination (required to be the "head of the agency") may be a retired/former agency head (sheriff, fire chief, etc.) or if it must be the current agency head who signs.

The Commission discussed each nomination at length and chose five recipients of the 2007 Medal of Honor:

Officer Mike Charles, Boise Police Department
Corporal Dale Rogers, Boise Police Department
Corporal Phil Anderson, Jerome County Sheriff's Office
Corporal Jim Moulson, Jerome County Sheriff's Office
Undersheriff Jocelyne Nunnally, Jerome County Sheriff's Office

Chairman von Tagen commented on the difficulty of the Commissioners' task, in choosing the medal recipients each year. He stated his respect for each of the Commissioners and thanked them for their hard work.

Mr. Becar reminded everyone that the ceremony is scheduled for May 18th and said that he would proceed with ordering the medals. There was discussion regarding the type of medal attachment that should be ordered this year – ribbon for hanging around the neck or a medal that is pinned on. Mr. Becar stated that each recipient receives a pin-on bar (for the uniform) with his/her medal, regardless of the type of medal attachment. Mr. Douglas and others commented that they preferred the medal attached to a ribbon.

Agenda Item IV - Next Meeting

This agenda item was not discussed.

Agenda Items VII - Adjourn

The Commission having concluded all of its business, the meeting adjourned at approximately 4:40 p.m.