## Meeting Minutes

## IDAHO LAW ENFORCEMENT, FIREFIGHTING AND EMS MEDAL OF HONOR COMMISSION

Thursday, February 20, 2014 10 A.M. MST

Office of the Idaho Attorney General Statehouse, Room 210 700 West Jefferson Street Boise, Idaho

Attorney General Lawrence Wasden, chairing the meeting, called the meeting to order at 10 a.m.

**Item 1 –** The Commission Secretary called roll.

The following commissioners were present:
Lawrence Wasden, Attorney General
Greg Bower, Ada County Prosecuting Attorney
Wayne Denney, EMS Bureau Chief, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
William Flink, POST Academy (via teleconference)
Blair Olsen, Jefferson County Sheriff
Bob Wells, Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security

The following commissioners were absent: Joe Rice, Chief, Soda Springs Police Department Doug Borah, Idaho Peace Officers Association Martin Knoelk, Idaho Fire Chiefs Association

The Chairman announced a quorum was present.

Others present: Teri Nealis, Commission Secretary (OAG)

Todd Dvorak, Director of Constituent Affairs (OAG)

The agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made.

**Item 2 –** Chairman Wasden asked if there were any changes to the proposed February 20, 2013 minutes. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion to approve. Bob Wells moved to approve the minutes, and the motion was seconded by Greg Bower. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the question. The motion passed unanimously.

**Item 3** – Chairman Wasden reviewed the qualifications for awarding the Idaho Law Enforcement, Firefighter and EMS Medal of Honor.

## **Item 4 –** Consideration of the Nominees.

**Item 4A** – Nomination of Captain Stuart Eigler, volunteer Firefighter/EMT for the Sam Owen Fire District. Chief Bob Wathen was contacted via phone and asked to give a brief summary of the incident. Chairman Wasden then opened up the floor for the Commission members to ask Chief Wathen questions. The Commission members then discussed their understanding of the incident and the nominations at length.

Chairman Wasden asked if there was any further discussion. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion. Greg Bower moved to award the Medal of Honor to Stuart Eigler. Wayne Denney seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

**Item 4B** – Nomination of John Ryan O'Hearn, Firefighter/Paramedic for the Pocatello Fire Department. Assistant Chief Mike Williams of the Pocatello Fire Department was contacted via phone and asked to give a brief summary of the incident. Chairman Wasden then opened up the floor for the Commission members to ask Assistant Chief Williams questions. The Commission members then discussed their understanding of the incident and the nomination at length.

Chairman Wasden asked if there was any further discussion. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion. Bob Wells moved to award the Medal of Honor to John Ryan O'Hearn. Greg Bower seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

**Item 4C** – Nomination of Jeff William Piazza, Engine Company Captain for the Clark Fork Fire Rescue Department. Fire Chief George Cordingly from the Clark Fork Fire Rescue Department was contacted via phone and asked to give a brief summary of the incident. Chairman Wasden opened the floor for Commission members to question Chief Cordingly. The Commission members then discussed their understanding of the incident and the nomination at length.

Chairman Wasden asked if there was any further discussion. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion. Greg Bower moved to award the Medal of Honor to Jeff William Piazza. Bob Wells seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

**Item 5 –** Per the change in the statute, the firefighters will receive their medals at the fallen firefighters memorial which will be held on June 7, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. The memorial park is located along the Boise River Greenbelt in Riverside Park at 1775 West Shoreline Drive. The Commission will hold a meeting with the recipients at 6:30 p.m. and then recess for the ceremony and resume the meeting afterwards. Chairmen Wasden directed Teri Nealis, the commission secretary to check on the possibility of using a room in the fire station next door to the Firefighters memorial for the meeting

The Commission members agreed that having a person to contact at the nominating agency during the Commission meeting is very important to the Commission as they are deliberating on the nominees. Chairman Wasden directed the Commission Secretary to include a request for a contact person in the Call for Nominations letter in subsequent years, and that the request be highlighted.

**Item 6** – Chairman Wasden called for a motion to adjourn. Bob Wells moved to adjourn. Greg Bower seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for the question. The motion passed unanimously.

The Commission meeting adjourned at 11: 25 a.m.