Meeting Minutes IDAHO LAW ENFORCEMENT, FIREFIGHTING AND EMS MEDAL OF HONOR COMMISSION

Wednesday, February 17, 2016 10 A.M. MST

Office of the Idaho Attorney General Statehouse, Room 210 700 West Jefferson Street Boise, Idaho

Attorney General Lawrence Wasden, chairing the meeting, called the meeting to order at 10 a.m.

Item 1 – The Commission Secretary called roll.

The following commissioners were present: Lawrence Wasden, Attorney General Wayne Denney, Chief, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services & Preparedness Dennis Doan, Boise Fire Department Chief Jeff Lavey, Chief, Meridian City Police Bart May, Clark County Sheriff Tim Miller, Idaho Peace Officers Association Bryan Taylor, Canyon County Prosecuting Attorney

The following commissioners were absent: Bob Wells, Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security Victor McCraw, POST Division Administrator

The Chairman announced a quorum was present.

Others present: Teri Nealis, Commission Secretary (OAG) Todd Dvorak, Director of Constituent Affairs (OAG)

Chairman Wasden wanted to note for the record that the Commission secretary received a call from Bob Wells who is out of state and unable to make it back to Idaho in time for the meeting. Also, Victor McGraw had informed the secretary ahead of time that he had a conflict and would be absent from the meeting, but he did provide a document with his comments regarding each nomination that also included a vote. Said vote, however, cannot be counted as there is no provision in the statute for an absentee vote.

The agenda was reviewed; no amendments were made.

Chairman Wasden then asked those present to introduce themselves, as there are several new commissioners members.

Item 2 – Chairman Wasden asked if there were any changes to the proposed February 18, 2015 minutes. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion to approve. Dennis Doan moved to approve the February 18, 2015 minutes. Bryan Taylor seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 3 – Qualifications

Item 3A – Chairman Wasden reviewed the rules for awarding the Idaho Law Enforcement, Firefighter and EMS Medal of Honor.

Item 3B – Report of sub-committee (appointed at the 2/18/15 MOH Commission meeting) regarding issue with MOH Commission rules not having been promulgated via the Administrative Procedure Act. Chairman Wasden called for the report from Bob Wells as the chair of that sub-committee, but due to Bob Wells' absence, no report was given and the matter was set over to the Commission's next meeting.

Item 4 – Consideration of the Nominees.

Item 4A – Nomination of John Ward, Lieutenant for Kootenai County Fire & Rescue. Chief Warren Merritt of the Kootenai County Fire & Rescue was contacted via phone and asked to give a brief summary of the incident. The Chairman then opened up the floor for the Commission members to ask Chief Merritt questions. The Commission members discussed their understanding of the incident and the nominations at length.

Chairman Wasden asked if there was any further discussion. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion. Bryan Taylor moved to award the Idaho Medal of Honor to John Ward. Dennis Doan seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

Item 4B – Nomination of Austin Flegel, patrol deputy for the Bonneville County Sheriff's Office. Sgt. Jared Hurt of the Bonneville County Sheriff's Office was contacted via phone and asked to give a brief summary of the incident. Chairman Wasden then opened up the floor for the Commission members to ask Sgt. Hurt questions. The Commission members then discussed their understanding of the incident and the nomination at length.

Chairman Wasden asked if there was any further discussion. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion. Tim Miller moved to NOT award the Medal of

Honor to Austin Flegel. Bart May seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed with one dissenting vote.

The Commission Members agreed that a letter should be sent regarding nominees that are not awarded the Medal of Honor, commending them for their actions. The Chair directed the secretary to draft such a letter and he would sign it on behalf of the Commission and have it sent out.

Item 4C – Nominations of Jared Hurt (patrol sergeant), Korey Payne (patrol deputy), and Christopher Rix (patrol deputy) of the Bonneville County Sheriff's Office; and Sean Allen (paramedic/driver) of the Idaho Falls Fire Department. Chief Paul Wilde of the Bonneville County Sheriff's Office was contacted via phone and asked to give a brief summary of the incident. The Chairman then opened up the floor for the Commission members to ask Chief Wilde questions. The Commission members discussed their understanding of the incident and the nominations at length.

Chairman Wasden asked if there was any further discussion. Hearing no comments, he called for a motion. Jeff Lavey moved to award the Medal of Honor to Jared Hurt, Korey Payne, Christopher Rix and Sean Allen. Bart May seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

At this time, Chairman Wasden thanked all the Commission members for their genuine, well thought out discussion and deliberation of the nominations.

Item 5 – 2016 Ceremony – As there are both law enforcement and firefighters receiving the Idaho Medal of Honor, there will be two ceremonies this year. The medals will be presented to the law enforcement officers at the annual Idaho Peace Officers' Memorial Ceremony at Idaho State Police headquarters in Meridian. This year's ceremony is scheduled for Thursday, May 19, 2016, at 10:00 a.m. The firefighters will be awarded their medals at the annual Idaho Fallen Firefighters Memorial ceremony at the Idaho Fallen Firefighters Memorial ceremony at the Idaho Fallen Firefighters Memorial on Friday, September 9, 2016, at a time yet to be determined.

Chairman Wasden then reviewed the Commission's process for calling additional meetings for the year (which usually happens only in years that the MOH is awarded). Typically the Commission has held a meeting immediately before the MOH ceremony so that the Commission members can meet the recipients and discuss the logistics of the ceremony with them. Then the Commission has recessed and reconvened after the ceremony for the purpose of discussing how the ceremony went, and if any improvements or changes need to be made for the future.

Chairman Wasden asked the board members for their input as to continuing this practice. The Commissioners all agreed that meeting before to meet the recipients is something they want to continue.

The Chairman asked if there were any suggestions or changes for future meetings. The Commissioners agreed they appreciate getting the nominations mailed to them in advance of the meeting, and asked that that continue.

Item 6 – Chairman Wasden called for a motion to adjourn. Wayne Denny moved to adjourn. Tim Miller seconded the motion. Chairman Wasden called for the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

The Commission meeting adjourned at 12:23 p.m.